Tuesday, March 18, 2008
posted by PabloPabla at 3:03 pm

At the risk of repetition, this is the full list of Cabinet Ministers newly appointed by the Prime Minister:-

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak

Ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department
Tan Sri Bernard Dompok
Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz
Datuk Ahmad Zahid Hamidi
Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim
Datuk Amirsham Abdul Aziz

Deputy Ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department
Datuk Johari Baharom
Datuk Dr Mashitah Ibrahim
Datuk K. Devamany
Datuk Hassan Malik

Minister - Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
Second Finance Minister - Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop
Deputies - Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah, Datuk Kong Cho Ha

Minister - Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak
Deputy - Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop

Internal Security and Home Affairs
Minister - Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar
Deputies - Datuk Chor Chee Heong, Senator Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh

Housing and Local Government
Minister -Datuk Ong Ka Chuan
Deputies - Datuk Robert Lau , Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin

Works Minister
Minister - Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamad
Deputy- Datuk Yong Khoon Seng

Energy, Water and Communications
Minister - Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor
Deputy- Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum

Agriculture and Agro-based Industry
Minister - Datuk Mustapa Mohamed
Deputy - Datin Paduka Rohani Abdul Karim

International Trade and Industry
Minister -Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin
Deputies- Loh Wei Keong, Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan

Foreign Affairs
Minister -Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim
Deputy- Tunku Azlan Abu Bakar

Minister -Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein
Deputies -Datuk Wee Ka Siong, Datuk Razali Ismail

Higher Education
Minister - Datuk Khaled Nordin
Deputies - Khoo Kok Choong, Datuk Idris Harun

Datuk Ong Tee Keat
Deputy - Anifah Aman

Human Resources
Datuk S. Subramaniam
Deputy- Datuk Noraini Ahmad

Women, Family and Community Development
Minister-Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen
Deputy- Noriah Kasnon

National Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage
Minister- Datuk Shafie Apdal
Deputy-Datuk Teng Boon Soon

Science, Technology and Innovation
Minister- Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili
Deputy- Fadilah Yusof

Entrepreneurial and Cooperative Development
Minister - Datuk Noh Omar
Deputy- Datuk Saiffuddin Abdullah

Natural Resources and Environment
Minister - Datuk Douglas Unggah Embas
Deputy - Datuk Abu Ghapur Salleh

Rural and Regional Development
Minister - Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib
Deputy- Tan Sri Joseph Kurup

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs
Minister - Datuk Shahrir Samad
Deputy - Jelaing Mersat

Plantation Industries and Commodities
Minister - Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui
Deputy- Senator A. Kohilan

Youth and Sports
Minister - Datuk Ismail Sabri Yaacob
Deputy - Wee Jack Seng

Minister - Datuk Liow Tiong Lai
Deputy- Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad

Minister - Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek
Deputy- Datuk Tan Lian Hoe

Minister - Datuk Azalina Othman
Deputy - Datuk Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abu Taib

Minister - Datuk Zulhasnan Rafique
Deputy- M. Saravanan

Some have commended the PM for reducing the number of ministers from 36 to the present number. Likewise, the Deputy Ministers. Some have welcomed the recognition and promotion of some good guys like Datuk Shahrir Samad, Datuk Dr. Maximus Ongkili, Datuk Mohd Zaid Ibrahim and Datuk K. Devamany as they feel that these guys deserve their posts for speaking out for the truth and downtrodden. Why then do I say that this line up could spell the end of the good guys?

Now, isn't it quite obvious that when you are part of the Cabinet, you are supposed to be a "yes man" to the PM or DPM? Or rather, chances are you will not say anything against the Government's policies or governance. In all likelihood, you will not voice out in public or Parliament anything which goes against the Government regardless of how important those issues are. It would be different if you were still a BackBencher or even as an MP. These "good guys" (save for Datuk Dr. Maximus Ongkili who was already a Minister in the PM's department prior to this) were BackBenchers prior to their recent promotions.

Even for Datuk Dr. Max, when he spoke out about his personal views that Malaysia is not an Islamic State, it was more in a hushed arena than in Parliament. During that tenure of his, he was the Minister for National Unity and Integration and he spoke out as a consequence. He had to make a statement for the sake of national unity. Now, he is made Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation. I don't have any comments on his qualifications but I do note that prior to his federal appointment, he was the Science and Technology Adviser to the Chief Minister of Sabah. Yet, I think he may now have to take a back seat and probably not voice out on the same issue (if it arises again). I may be jumping the gun but I am not that optimistic when it comes to facing the fact that in Malaysia, Ministers and MPs to a certain extent, toe the line and listen to the Party Whip.

The question is would these good guys (or MPs with conscience) speak up as before? Are their promotions one way of appeasing the public but at the same time, shutting them up indirectly? Tell will tell.



At 8:39 pm, Blogger Bengbeng

We give them 5 years and see how thing go. Hopefully after the denial stage, things will improve. Am I too optimistic?


At 9:47 pm, Blogger Anak Merdeka

Yes, it will be interesting to see how long these "good guys" will last when the whip starts cracking.